Conky- To use or not use?

Here are some of the useful links that helped me when installing and configuring Conky on my Chromebook and also an iMac running Ubuntu Raring Ringtail 13.04.

I have way more to say about Conky. I will update this post as a tinker around more.

Update 5-5-2013 5:41 PM PST:

So last night I left my iMac running with Ubuntu. When I came in this morning I found that Conky was using 24% of the memory on the machine? I killed the process and restarted Conky. It is now using .1 – 2% of memory. I will continue to work with Conky and let everyone know my findings. To continue where I left off yesterday, my initial reason for installing Conky was so that I could monitor what the machine was doing in real time as sometimes I would experience some slowness to the iMac. Upon installing and configuring Conky I found the problem to be linked directly to the fact that it only has 1GiB of ram. The machine was consistently running at 85 – 95% memory usage. I have planned to correct this issue tomorrow as someone has volunteered to donate some old ram they have laying around.

I have plans to change the to change the graphic that Conky displays as the overlay. More to come on that later.

Leave a Comment? Leave a Reply? Leave Something for Goodness Sake! Don't just leave us Hanging!

